I think the one thing that differs with my idea of a horror protagonist is the sensibility of their reactions to the events they are thrown into. Horror films are filled with circumstantial plot points that build on one core theme. Generally the tense nature of the film will heighten each time one of these 'protagonist meets conflict' situations happen. My protagonist is male, in their late 20's and in all rights is a regular guy. I'm building a story out of the solutions to faults I find in most current horror films today. One of my most favorite horror and thriller protagonists is Mcready, Kurt Russels character in The Thing. He's a young male and acts naturally to everything that happens to him. He's sarcastic and relatable. So many current horror films and series have young, conflicted teen characters that just scream and act without rational to their circumstances. I can't stand those characters. Rather then writing a script from a story I've read, or a drama with some deep character building plot, I really want to throw an everyman protagonist into a horror film filled with dashes of the right ingredients to create a satisfying vibe that is both tense and scary. I actually look forward to describing the people who influence my character. Maybe I'm doing this in the reverse of what most horror writers do. In all honesty most horror and thriller films seem to make the focal point and element of the film the antagonist and not actually the protagonist. Or in a horror film is the protagonist actually the antagonist? Is Freddy the guy who the audience roots for? Does the audience really care about Roy Shnieders character in Jaws, or are they really fixated on how come this shark is terrorizing the beach dwelling population? 
Alison Bruce
11/11/2012 12:06:17 am

You make an articulate argument. And I've never seen the Thing, so I will take your word on it. Maybe you can save the horror genre, which is now riddled with "Cabin in the Woods" type slackers and parody. Once a film called "John Dies at The End" (check the trailer, film not out yet), I have to wonder where else the genre can go. But I'm learning a lot from the horror writers. Solid entry.

Reply
Kurtis
11/12/2012 12:58:15 pm

I've seen that trailer, not sure what to think of the film yet. The Thing is honestly fantastic. It's packed full of really natural dialogue and the characters react extremely realistically, which is a rare occasion in suspense films in my opinion.

Reply



Leave a Reply.


dance music, tiesto, afrojack, dj, paul van dyk, techno, blog, essential mix, toronto, twitter, Toronto, Avicii, photography, toronto, twitter, tiesto, maximal, crazy, edc, ultra, maximal, crazy, electro, house, progressive, electric, daisy, carnival, hardwell, musical, freedom, zero, 76, breda, trance, house, trouse, dance, DJ, deadmau5, Strobe, ultra, records, for, lack, of, better, name, house, trance, progressive, music, electro, dead, mouse, deadmau5, Strobe, dance, techno, remix, original, mix, House, music, Dance, Dans, Dansa, Danza, Music, Música, Muzik, House, музыка, musik, DJ, Mix, Club, klubb, Disco, Discotheque, disk, диск, Record, registro, minimal, pop, music, Electronic, dance, music,